List of Misdemeanors 

By Albert J. Gaspari
The state of Florida defines a misdemeanor as a crime punishable by less than a year in jail or by a fine of less than $1,000.  There are two types of misdemeanors in Florida.

A first-degree misdemeanor can recieve a year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.  A second-degree misdemeanor can receive 60 days in jail and a fine up to $500.  

Here is a list of some common first-degree misdemeanors:

  • Simple battery
  • Bad Checks under $150
  • Boating under the Influence
  • Criminal Mischief (damage greater than $200 but less than $1,000)
  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Domestic violence/spousal abuse
  • Driving with a Suspended License with Knowledge
  • DUI/drunk driving
  • Driving with license suspended (2nd offense)
  • Indecent exposure
  • Lewdness
  • Loitering & Prowling
  • Marijuana possession (under twenty grams)
  • Petit (petty) theft (2nd offense)
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia
  • Reckless driving
  • Resisting an Officer without Violence
  • Shoplifting (under $300)
  • Solicitation for prostitution
  • Ticket Scalping
  • Trespass
  • Vandalism
  • Prostitution


Here is a list of some common second-degree misdemeanors:

  • Simple Assault
  • Criminal Mischief (where damage is $200 or less)
  • Petit Theft (first offense)
  • Simple Trespass
  • Driving on a Suspended License with Knowledge (first offense)
  • Attaching Tag Not Assigned
  • No Valid Driver’s License
  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Disorderly Intoxication
  • Loitering or Prowling
  • No Motorcycle Endorsement
  • Harassing Phone Calls
  • Expired Tag More Than 6 Months (second offense)

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.